The jury for the Cikada Award has decided to give the 2007
Cikada Award to the Korean poet
Shin Kyong-Rim.

The Cikada Award is given to an East Asian poet, who »in his/her poems defends the inviolability of life«. The award was founded in 2004 in connection with the 100th anniversary of the birth of the Swedish Nobel Prize laureate in literature 1974, Harry Martinson. It consists of SEK 20.000 and a piece of ceramics made by the Swedish artist Gunilla Sundström.

Behind the award are the following institutions in Sweden:
- the European Institute of Japanese Studies at the Stockholm School of Economics,
- the hotel Yasuragi Hasseludden,
- the Jewish Theater,
- the private East Asia Institute, and
- Nyteboden, the foundation which takes care of the birth place of Mr. Martinson in the south of Sweden.

The name of the award has been inspired by Martinson's poetry collection »Cikada«, which was published in 1953. The award is given to East Asian poets (Chinese, Korean, and Japanese) because of the great inspiration Harry Martinson found for his own poetry in the literature produced by East Asian writers, and also because the rich poetry of these countries deserves better international recognition, according to the organizers.

Several of Ko Un's poems have been translated in to Swedish, and Ko Un has many readers in Sweden. The award will be given to Mr. Ko Un at the Swedish Embassy in Seoul towards the end of November 2006.

Earlier prize winners

The third Cikada Prize was given to the Korean writer Ko Un (born 1933) and was presented to him by the Swedish Ambassador at a ceremony at the Swedish Ambassador’s residence in Seoul in November 2006.

The winner of the second Cikada Award was the Japanese haiku poet Kaneko Tota (born 1919). The award was handed over to Mr. Kaneko at the Swedish Embassy in Tokyo on 13 December 2005 by Princess Desirée of Sweden.

The first Cikada Award was given to the modern Japanese poet So Sakon (1919-2006). The award was presented in connection with the opening of a symposium about Japanese literature at the Yasuragi in Stockholm on the 6th of August 2004, but the award itself was handed to Mr. So at the Swedish Embassy in Tokyo on 3 September 2004.
louis vuitton outlet louis vuitton outlet jordan 3 sport blue kate spade outlet louis vuitton outlet foamposites jordan 6 sport blue louis vuitton outlet louis vuitton outlet wolf grey 3s michael kors outlet louis vuitton outlet jordan 6 sport blue jordan 3 sport blue louis vuitton outlet sport blue 3s sport blue 6s beats by dre cheap cheap jordans kate spade diaper bag